Skip navigation

Finally quiet and trying to focus.  I’m creating a few “electronic etudes”, very short pieces inspired by the many recordings I’ve taken during that past few months.  I can’t seem to escape the cars, trucks or planes no matter where I go. Even here, in the “countryside” of Fukuoka, the 120 year-old house I’m staying in is located next to a highway that is busy 24 hours a day.  So, I’m doing my best, with the materials at hand to create a few pieces and turn my life experiences into “studies of sound”. Here is a few I’m willing to share at this point.  They are both inspired by sounds from the Chihan House, in the Izu Peninsula where I stayed in February.

Looking forward to hearing your comments.

Thanks for listening.

ohito_etude2

ohito_etude1mix

view from my window at the Kura Studio

view from my window

inside the studio

view from inside the studio

2 Comments

  1. Very nice musique concrète. From my opinion, the voices at the beginning of etude 2 would sound better without granular effects if it’s so.
    Rather than trying to escape the cars, trucks etc. you might make a piece with them !

    Cheers

    Ninh

    • thanks for the encouragement Ninh! actually, there is no “granular effects”, I was just playing w/the the rhythms of the recording…and I also think the bass effect of the cars/trucks are quite nice and I could use even more of them! 😉 I appreciate your listening!


Leave a Reply

